We acknowledge members each year with four awards that are presented at the AGM. If you would like to nominate anyone for an award please contact the club with the subject Awards. The committee will compile all nominations and decide on the winners.

Best Novice Paddler

Leslie Watson Trophy – Lesley was the founder of the club in 1983.
The best novice paddler trophy is awarded to the person who has shown a lot of enthusiasm to become a more aware and rounded paddler within the Club.

Most Improved Paddler

Roy Metcalf Trophy – Roy was the Secretary of the club for many years.
The most improved paddler trophy is awarded to the person who has improved significantly as a paddler within the Club.

Appreciation Award

Rees Gibbon Trophy – Cup is awarded.
The appreciation award is awarded to the person who has contributed and been a credit to the club as a whole, not necessarily on the water.

Silly Steve Award

Silly Steve was an active member of the club for a number of years – Little Yellow Bendy Man is awarded.
The Silly Steve award is awarded by the winner of the previous year to the person who best represents the spirit and character of Silly Steve, an enthusiastic kayaker who encouraged many people to get out on river as often as possible, who always smiled and always made you smile. PS: the little yellow bender man must accompany the winner on every trip forever.

Refer to the Members’ Area for the awards table, the password is on the back of your membership card.